Abagond

Repost: This was first posted two years ago today. With 1,778 comments, its thread is no longer usable. I am closing the original to comments and reposting it here. Only the “See also” section has been changed – I still agree with what I said in the original post:

Why do many White Americans hate, demonize, fear and look down on blacks? I am no scientist or scholar, but here is I how I currently think about it. This post is very much a work in progress.

There are plenty of things that keep white racist thinking in place:

  • Racist messages in jokes, history books, the news and on television, etc,
  • Material self-interest,
  • Fear of becoming an outcast among whites

and so on. But this is not the heart of the matter.

Not even material self-interest. After all, plenty of poor whites are racist. About all they have to show…

View original post 453 more words

